danaxdom.blogg.se

Spot color separation tutorial
Spot color separation tutorial







spot color separation tutorial
  1. SPOT COLOR SEPARATION TUTORIAL FULL
  2. SPOT COLOR SEPARATION TUTORIAL REGISTRATION

To do this, we are going to, once again, CMD+click our white spot layer. Again, I CMD+click (ctrl+click) the text layer to create my selection and after selecting the white spot plate layer, I hit CMD+delete (ctrl+backspace) to fill it with white.Ĩ.) To make this process as easy as possible, lets quickly make our white spot into its own plate.

spot color separation tutorial

I hit the color box at the top, and using the eyedropper sample the orange from my chick to be used with the text.ħ.) Again, because I am going to want this text to be very visible, I am going to have to add it to my white spot plate. Using the text tool, I am going to quickly add in century gothic under my chick. I am going to fill this with 20% black.Ħ.) I am also going to quickly add some text to my design. So, I will create a new layer under my white spot layer, and with the circle marquee, create a small, horizontal oval. Because I want to print this drop shadow right onto the shirt, creating just a dark spot beneath the chick, I do not need to have a white background. I am going to CMD+click (or ctrl+click for PC) on my Chick layer, to create a selection of the artwork, and on a new layer fill that selection with white by pressing CMD+Delete (or ctrl+backspace on a PC).ĥ.) I am also going to create a quick drop shadow for my little chick. Also, being a vector image, I have the freedom to scale this as large as I like for our final screen.Ĥ.) Because I eventually plan to print this onto a colored shirt, I will need to create a white spot plate. We are going to want the largest image possible in terms of resolution in order to get the best quality out of our printed piece.ģ.) I am choosing a vector image, and while I would have better results going with maybe 5 color spot print, this will work fine for what we are doing. Click OK and lets get started.Ģ.) Next, place the artwork that you plan to use for the final screen print into the registration.psd. This file will be 8.5” x 11” at a resolution of 600dpi in the CMYK color mode. psd used in the tutorial, here.ġ.) We are going to start off by firing up Adobe Photoshop CS2, and open the registration.psd.Īlternatively, if you would like to start from scratch, create a new file.

SPOT COLOR SEPARATION TUTORIAL REGISTRATION

In this tutorial we will be using Adobe Photoshop CS2.ĭownload the registration marks. In this tutorial, we are going to take what we have learned, and using photoshop, quickly create color separations for output to transparencies for screen printing. In that article we discussed the principles of the CMYK color model, color separations, halftones, and lines per inch (LPI).

SPOT COLOR SEPARATION TUTORIAL FULL

If you have read my article, “The Secrets to Full Color Screen Printing”, than you already understand the underlying principles to 4 color screen printing.









Spot color separation tutorial